Golden Bloom: Theme For An Adventure At Sea [World Premiere]

Golden Bloom's Shawn Fogel

FensePost is proud to conclude The Summer of Golden Bloom, in which nine blogs came together to exclusively premiere various tracks off Golden Bloom‘s debut LP Fan The Flames, out August 18. Our exclusive track is “Theme For An Adventure At Sea” and it is easily one of my favorite songs on Fan The Flames, and certainly my favorite new track.

“Doomsday Devices” and “The Fight at the End of the Tunnel” had already become regular additions to my playlist prior to receiving Fan The Flames in the mail. But “Theme For An Adventure At Sea” is unique in comparison to the other tracks on Fan The Flames, and different from prior releases by Golden Bloom front-man Shawn Fogel. While it maintains key Golden Bloom traits — all feature very dance-appropriate, upbeat pop that is highly infectious — the song builds from soft beginnings into an epic climactic pop jam.

The song begins humbly, with a simple guitar strum and harmonica before Fogel enters with his cool, smooth vocals. These soft beginnings grow as an organ is added, but it’s not until percussion joins shortly after the one-third mark that the song truly begins to build and blossom into greatness. That greatness opens into an instrumental bridge jam with a focus on swirling keys and guitars that explodes into the climactic conclusion. It’s the perfect way to end an album like Fan The Flames; Fogel and Golden Bloom finish Fan The Flames with a big bang.

Golden Bloom: Theme For An Adventure At Sea [mp3]
[audio:090814-golden_bloom-theme_for_an_adventure_at_sea.mp3|titles=Theme For An Adventure At Sea|artists=Golden Bloom]

For those interested in checking out the other premiers from the summer, here you go:

1. “E.H.M” on Magnet Magazine
2. “Doomsday Devices (Ruby Isle Remix)” on Under The Radar
3. “Fan The Flames” on Tuneraker
4. “She Leaves Me Poetry” on Bag Of Songs
5. “The Flight At The End Of The Tunnel” on Consequence of Sound
6. “Dead Petals” on Ryan’s Smashing Life
7. “If You Believe” on SPIN
8. “The Mountainside Says” on Popwreckoning

Leave a Reply