Skip to content
Home » san francisco » The Blank Tapes: Home Away From Home [Album Review]

The Blank Tapes: Home Away From Home [Album Review]

The Blank Tapes

The Blank Tapes‘ Matt Adams wrote his new album Home Away From Home, as he puts it, in a van in probably half of the states in America. For that, it is named appropriately. It, too, is packed with garage-worthy tinkering that extends from folk to pop to experimental psychedelic. It’s an array that bodes well for the San Francisco native, and it’s one that’s definitely worth a pair of ears. Namely — yours.

“Flashing Before Your Eyes” is one of many standouts, this one blending hints of psychedelic rock with folk-pop sensibilities. And he drops in some experimental traits while he’s at it. Home Away From Home opens with “Black Hair”, a track with an epic, powerful rock riff and hazy, warbled vocals. He follows that with a smooth bass-line and carefree vocals in “We Can Do What We Want To”.

The thing is, Home Away From Home is full of this, from the southern-influence “Driving Out Of My Mind” to the mysterious “Don’t Mind” to the soft folk closer “Place In My Heart.” And for that, Adams seems like he’d be a pretty amazing individual to meet.

Download: “We Can Do What We Want To” by The Blank Tapes
[audio:100614-blank-tapes-we-can-do-what-we-want-to.mp3|titles=We Can Do What We Want To|artists=The Blank Tapes]

Listen to the full album and pick up a digital copy over at BandCamp.

The Blank Tapes: Home Away From Home

[CD, 2010]

1. Black Hair
2. We Can Do What We Want To
3. Flash Back
4. Driving Out Of My Mind
5. Home Tonight
6. Don’t Mind
7. Flashing Before Your Eyes
8. Let The Growing Begin
9. Home Away From Home
10. Place In My Heart

2 thoughts on “The Blank Tapes: Home Away From Home [Album Review]”

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email