Skip to content
Home » hometapes » Pattern Is Movement: All Together [Album Review]

Pattern Is Movement: All Together [Album Review]

Pattern Is Movement

Written by Ben Meyercord.

Pattern is Movement‘s new album, All Together is good. Definitely above average. Enough that I have songs stuck in my head. Enough that I looked up their tour schedule to see if they are playing anywhere near me (they aren’t). Enough that I looked up their back catalog and plan on acquiring some it.

It should be noted that All Together is the first album I have reviewed completely digitally. I was sent the files I put it on my iPod and listened. I had no artwork and I didn’t know what the band would sound like or how many members. I just had the music.

The first track, “Bird”, is almost impossibly upbeat, driven by a scarcely relenting pulsing drum beat. It seemed very sugary at first. So much in fact, that I was unsure if I would make it through the whole album. But I kept listening and I am glad I did.

It took me a couple of listens, but I realized that there aren’t really any guitars on the album. Instead the music is filled with amazing and tightly wound arrangements of keyboards, rhodes, vocals, strings, and brass. The very creative drumming and keyboard flourishes are what I feel move this album though, which is why I was not surprised to learn that the group is actually a duo consisting of Andrew Thiboldeaux (keys of all sorts) and Chris Ward (drums).

What I was surprised to learn is that this album is based a series of ten early 20th century photographs that Andrew’s brother found on the streets of Philadelphia. Ten photos. Ten Songs. The story seems to check out. However, this where I am at a disadvantage for not having the artwork. It would be cool to compare the photos to the songs they inspired, assuming they include pictures of the photos. I guess I will have to buy it when it comes out (their label, Hometapes Records, releases albums on vinyl too; yay!).

This review was originally published February 29, 2008 on the old version of FensePost.

Pattern Is Movement: Right Away [mp3]
[audio:090809-pattern_is_movement-right_away.mp3|titles=Right Away|artists=Pattern Is Movement]

All Together by Pattern Is Movement

Home Tapes [CD, 2008]

1. Bird
2. Peach Trees
3. Trolley Friend
4. Right Away
5. Sea Captain
6. Sound Of Your Voice
7. Jenny Ono
8. Sylvia
9. Brown And Hard Curtains
10. Elephant

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email