Skip to content
Home » carrot top records » The Bitter Tears: Jam Tarts In The Jakehouse [Album Review]

The Bitter Tears: Jam Tarts In The Jakehouse [Album Review]

The Bitter Tears

The Bitter Tears are definitely an odd bunch. It’s hard to completely follow the abundance of wacky antics burning through your laptop speakers. It’s also hard not to love these guys! This Chicago-based band of merry men seem to be a few sparks away from big bass insanity. And their sophomore release, Jam Tarts In The Jakehouse, proves to be the asylum in which said insanity shall be housed. God only knows how a madhouse like this will turn out. But it sounds so damn good.

If you start to count the plethora of instruments used throughout this album, you will also need to use your barefooted neighbor’s feet. And it is surely the abundance of musical captivity that makes The Bitter Tears so lovable. “Slay The Heart Of The Earth” is a magical disorientation of what you thought may have been a commonplace existence. But you may may find that you cannot trust any of your original thoughts after one listen to this beautiful record.

The world can never have enough of reasonably (non-violent) defiance of common life. It is the balance of nature. And when instruments are handed to said defiance, a mystical and awakening commonwealth is sure to be an inspiration when marketed correctly. And The Bitter Tears bring forth this madness in the most beautiful way. Their unique individuality is a well formatted surge of rebellion to the crazy average, and the habitually regular means of life. This can not be a bad thing.

The Bitter Tears: Starlight [mp3]
[audio:090430_the_bitter_tears_-_starlight.mp3|titles=Starlight|artists=The Bitter Tears]

Jam Tarts In The Jakehouse by The Bitter Tears

Carrot Top Records [CD, 2009]

1. Slay The Heart Of The Earth
2. The Bachelor’s Say
3. Inbred Kings
4. Oiling
5. Hamptons
6. Starlight
7. Stumper
8. The Companion
9. The Love Letter
10. Worthless Sleaze

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email