Album Reviews

Letters: All The Adventures To See Them I Will (Album Review)


Letters return to that sound I loved so much from their earliest release on their latest album, All The Adventures To See Them I Will. “Hideaway” and “Thrive” set the pace early-on, with lo-fi folk pop. The latter drops in a great beat, a most welcome addition to Letters’ already great sound.

It is this addition that makes All The Adventures To See Them I Will stand out. The Olympia-based band continues to create playful, whisper-y folk songs, but with a bigger emphasis on rhythm rather than instrumentation causes an eerie effect — something Letters have done well in the past. Yet here it’s capitalized upon; “Musk Of This Ink” is a perfect example.

As a whole, All The Adventures To See Them I Will holds together very well; better, in fact, than Letters’ previous releases. That’s not to say those prior releases didn’t hold merit — they most certainly did — it’s just that this album is more cohesive from song to song. There remain a few transition pieces, like “Hands In Pockets”, but Letters have put together an album that pays homage to their initial lo-fi folk-pop sound, yet adds elements of electro-pop throughout.

Download: “Thrive” by Letters


[CD, 2011]

1. Simple Fact
2. Hideaway
3. Thrive
4. Holiday
5. Musk Of This Ink
6. Hands In Pockets
7. Lullaby
8. Rachel
9. Sacred Chime
10. Expansive Feeling
11. Rare Beast

Leave a Reply