Album Reviews

Coltrane Motion: The Year Without A Summer [7″ Review]

Coltrane Motion

Small town Ohio isn’t your typical breeding ground for great tunes; the term small town Ohio reverberates imagery of American flags and generic beer and church steeples. Coltrane Motion may have been birthed from these lands, but Chicago has since welcomed them with open arms. The group’s latest is a 7-inch single for their electro-noise-pop track “The Year Without A Summer” and its b-side is “Maya Blue”.

Coltrane Motion is a due that includes Michael Bond on vocals and Matt Dennewitz on fuzzy guitar. Their music also includes wild synth, organ and drum loops. Where “The Year Without A Summer” features erratic synth and organ notes, “Maya Blue” finds the duo in a dreamier state. The sounds that pour forth from speakers are epically loud and filled with a beloved drone.

The Year Without A Summer b/w Maya Blue is the perfect introduction to Coltrane Motion, a band that already has a pretty impressive collection of recordings under their belt. Their first “official” LP, Songs About Music (2007), was also released on Data Was Lost.

Coltrane Motion: The Year Without A Summer [mp3]
[audio:090728_coltrane_motion-the_year_without_a_summer.mp3|titles=The Year Without A Summer|artists=Coltrane Motion]

The Year Without A Summer by Coltrane Motion

Data Was Lost [7″ Single, 2009]

1. The Year Without A Summer
2. Maya Blue

Leave a Reply