Album Reviews

Peter Bjorn And John: Living Thing [Album Review]

Peter Bjorn And John

Even the skeptics would say (or should say) that The Writer’s Block by Peter Bjorn And John was anything but – there was a special sort of quality that hoisted it above prior work, even the great Falling Out. Songs like “Young Folks” and “Objects Of My Affection” were some of the best songs of 2007. Living Thing is the follow-up and, not surprisingly, it fails to live up to its predecessor. But that doesn’t mean it lacks greatness; again, anything but.

Failing to live up to prior genius isn’t always a bad thing. Would we really want another album packed with too-similar songs? I’d say no. In fact, Living Thing must be looked at completely separately from those earlier works – it is a whole new beast. Single “Nothing To Worry About” is highly infectious with a youthful chorus on par with The Go! Team. It’s a common theme on the album.

What really sets Living Thing apart from albums like The Writer’s Block and Falling Out is its production. More often than not it’s minimal, but at all times there are delays built into the songs, echoes and reverberation, over distortion of guitar and vocals. Combined, these elements put Living Thing on a pedestal of its own. And that alone gives the album a fair amount of greatness.

Peter Bjorn And John: Nothing To Worry About [mp3]
[audio:090128_peter_bjorn_and_john_-_nothing_to_worry_about.mp3|titles=Nothing To Worry About|artists=Peter Bjorn And John]

Living Thing by Peter Bjorn And John

Almost Gold Recordings [CD, 2009]

1. The Feeling
2. It Don’t Move Me
3. Just The Past
4. Nothing To Worry About
5. I’m Losing My Mind
6. Living Thing
7. I Want You!
8. Lay It Down
9. Stay This Way
10. Blue Period Picasso
11. 4 Out Of 5
12. Last Night

Leave a Reply