Skip to content
Home » polysics » Polysics: We Ate The Machine [Album Review]

Polysics: We Ate The Machine [Album Review]


Written by bob_vinyl

Polysics (MySpace) make no secret of their love for Devo. The jumpsuits, the scientist-rock image, it all points to one thing. Their music however, goes further. Devo is clearly in the mix on this collection of synth-heavy, agitated new wave tunes and the result is fun, energetic… and entirely contrived. But they mix that 80s electronic pop with punk energy and more than just a small dose of old Japanese noisecore and that healthy dose of crazy keeps them from being trapped by their own hipness (a dangerous snare that many rehashers of the 80s have failed to avoid).

The vinyl version of We Ate The Machine comes as a double album that includes Polysics’ previous album, Karate House, which was unavailable in the U.S. While things have been polished up a bit on their U.S. debut, Polysics seems more in their element on Karate House. Their love of Devo was evident then too, but the album achieves a greater sense of craziness by being more fully under the spell of noisecore. The album is less accessible by far and still struggles a bit with its own identity, but the fun factor increases proportionately with their wonderful sense of nuttiness.

Polysics: Moog Is Love [mp3]
[audio:1027_polysics_-_moog_is_love.mp3|titles=Moog Is Love|artists=Polysics]

We Ate The Machine by Polysics

MySpace Records [CD, 2008]

1. Moog is Love
2. Pretty Good
3. Rocket
4. I ate the machine
5. DNA Junction
6. Kagayake
7. Pony & Lion
8. Arigato
9. Irotokage
10. Mind Your Head
11. Digital Coffee
12. Boys & Girls
13. Blue Noise
14. Dry or Wet


Leave a Reply

Follow by Email