Skip to content
Home » happy happy birthday to me records » Hotpants Romance: It’s A Heatwave [Album Review]

Hotpants Romance: It’s A Heatwave [Album Review]

Hotpants Romance

Hotpants Romance are so perfectly strange they’re almost hard to comprehend. They boast their work as “three girls, three years, three chords”. They really are as simple as that on the surface. Yet, there are so many things from their album It’s A Heatwave that are shiny, bright, and utterly complicated in the most splendid of ways. Laura, Lowri, and Kate seem to enjoy the frame of mind and sound they have developed by the large amount of energy they exude through each track.

It is great to hear the microseconds that these girls get on key, and then correct themselves with an abrupt pause or drawn out yell. This seems to be their charm. This is CBGB’s material before their was ever such a place. In it’s entirety, It’s A Heatwave sounds like a sing along for the mentally unstable who seem to know what it means to live better than the rest of the earth. It’s simply impossible not to feel a joyous sense of well being as these gals speed through tracks like “Shake” or “Blow My Fuse”.

It may take a keen ear for even the fiendish punk rock fan to hear the massive potential this album provides, but when you find yourself in a state of panic, or a complete mindfuck at that, these Manchester maidens will certainly be able to help you out with a musical kick to the sin. It’s not exactly sensational, but very special all the same. It’s the sort of album you find yourself trying to explain to your Mom with no progression. In the end you might just say You just don’t get it even though, in truth, there really isn’t much to get. Such is life. Such is Hotpants Romance.

Hotpants Romance: Shake [mp3]
[audio:090922-hotpants_romance-shake.mp3|titles=Shake|artists=Hotpants Romance]

It's A Heatwave by Hotpants Romance

Happy Happy Birthday To Me Records [CD, 2009]

1. Hotpants No Chance
2. Sugar Dip
3. Meg
4. Heatwave
5. Shake
6. Effin’ + Jeffin’
7. Stop Escaping
8. I Don’t Wanna
9. Blow My Fuse
10. We Used To Meet
11. Paul
12. Don’t Go

Leave a Reply

Follow by Email