Album Reviews

Crow Vs Lion: Rest Your Bones [Album Review]


Crow Vs Lion is one of the latest folk acts to rise from Pennsylvania. Rest Your Bones compiles thirteen tracks of raw folk, fronted by Dan Gallagher and featuring Joshua Britton (Psalmships, Sweetheart Parade). In fact, Crow Vs Lion is quite reminiscent of Britton’s music, but within these songs are a variety of instruments, occasional harmony vocals, and traits common with antifolk. Rest Your Bones, then, is an exciting release, filled with intrigue.

True to the antifolk name, Rest Your Bones joins together traditional folk with experimentation; one moment a stripped down, gritty guitar strum and deep vocals dominate only to be followed immediately with a drowning organ, a haunting melodica, or an unusual but clever vocal harmony. The album flirts with several sounds, from the raw, unprocessed and grit-filled folk to the calming, pleasant folk. And it switches between the two, and even combines them, in the most uncanny of ways.

Rest Your Bones is a masterful album packed with instrumental talent, songwriting prowess and the ability to mesmerize in a way not often found in folk music. Crow Vs Lion has created a true work of art.

Download: “All A Ghost” by Crow Vs Lion

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


[CD, 2011]

1. It’s Only Your Heart
2. Maps
3. Time Inside My Years
4. Horizon
5. Rest Your Bones
6. Edgar Allan Poe
7. Where The Sun Rise
8. Sea Sick (Part 1)
9. All A Ghost
10. Infantry
11. Sea Sick (Part 2)
12. Far May You Fall
13. Light Inside My Bones

Leave a Reply