Album Reviews

Eux Autres: Broken Bow [Album Review]


It’s amazing to hear the changes Eux Autres has gone through since they debuted with Hell Is Eux Autres in 2004. That album was rough and punchy, raw and bouncy. The punch and the bounce remain, but on Broken Bow things are smoother and more refined. They still contain all those elements I loved from the original — the stripped-down indie pop with a French twist, those lovable lyrics by Heather and Nicholas Larimer.

The changes are significant; such circumstances always run the risk of losing that early audience, of changing things too much, or even letting the core greatness of those earlier works slip away. Eux Autres does not succumb to these problems. Most notably, the band added Yoshi Nakamoto (The Aislers Set, Still Flyin’) in 2008 around the time of their Cold City release. In advance of this release, the trio became a quartet with Nathan Berlinguette on bass.

Songs on Broken Bow are just as poignant and stunning as before. You can hear it in “Under Rays” where Nicholas takes the lead, and in the lyrics the band writes. Always fun, there’s generally a hint of emotion, be it pensive dwelling on being treated poorly, or a raucous jaunt on a favored sports team. Fun, always; but the lyrics speak something a little different from what you might be used to. That, above almost anything else, is what makes Eux Autres one of the better pop bands around.

Download: “Go Dancing” by Eux Autres
[audio:101006-eux-autres-go-dancing.mp3|titles=Go Dancing|artists=Eux Autres]


[CD, 2010]

1. Jamais
2. Queen Turner
3. Under Rays
4. Wind Me Up
5. A Band Undone
6. You’re Alright
7. Rosehill
8. Go Dancing
9. My Love Will Not Let You Down
10. Take It Or Leave It
11. Cover Rights

One thought on “Eux Autres: Broken Bow [Album Review]

Leave a Reply