Album Reviews

Boris Skalsky: First Songs [Album Review]

Boris Skalsky

First Songs is the solo work of songwriter Boris Skalsky, who fronts Dead Heart Bloom. Here one will find a stripped-down folk side of Skalsky as opposed to something a bit heavier. Piano and acoustic guitar replaces rock guitars and drums.

It is a welcome change; songs like opener “Bright Eyes Gone” and it’s successor “A Love To Remember” have memorable, heartfelt melodies. This trend continues throughout First Songs. Select songs have a classic folk sound, like the chorus to “It’s A Truth” and “Soft Rains”.

Boris Skalsky’s music is honest and captivating. One listen to the plucked guitar and accompanying piano in “Learn To Grieve” and you too will be a fan.

First Songs by Boris Skalsky is available now on Amazon.

Boris Skalsky: Bright Eyes Gone [mp3]
[audio:090623_boris_skalsky_-_bright_eyes_gone.mp3|titles=Bright Eyes Gone|artists=Boris Skalsky]

First Songs by Boris Skalsky

[CD, 2009]

1. Bright Eyes Gone
2. A Love To Remember
3. Eleuthera
4. It’s A Truth
5. Learn To Grieve
6. Christmas Daydream
7. Soft Rains
8. Why Do I Feel

Leave a Reply