Album Reviews

Allt Är Musik: Skapelseberättelsen [Album Review]

Allt Är Musik

Allt Är Musik is somewhat of a rarity in that Andreas Sjögren, the primary force behind Allt Är Musik, sings in his native tongue. The typical Swedish artist tends to sing in English. On Skapelseberättelsen, Allt Är Musik creates lo-fi pop tunes that blend acoustic guitars with drone-ridden synths, the combination of which is quite peaceful.

Songs like “Allt Är Sagt Och Gjort” and title track “Skapelseberättelsen” include heavier synth focuses, but it’s not always the case. Sjögren will toss in a track where the primary focus is stripped to acoustics, like the outstanding, simple, yet entirely catchy tune “Lyssna Noga”, where the percussion builds softly for a most impressive conclusion, and a similarly constructed “Tomrum, Tomrum”.

There are comfortable mediums, like “Skymningen”, where the consistent, bass heavy acoustic strum maintains a very soothing presence, despite a mixed-down synth. Still, both sounds are conducive to one another; going from the organ-heavy drone of “Skapelseberättelsen” into the slightly bouncy pop in “Tomrum, Tomrum” is a little strange, but there’s a consistency that allows it to work very well.

Even when it leads into the third track, a heavily distorted pop track called “Borgmästaren” in the vein of The Hartmans, the continuity remains. And that’s what makes Skapelseberättelsen a brilliant lo-fi pop album.

Allt Är Musik: Skymningen [mp3]
[audio:090622_allt_ar_musik_-_skymningen.mp3|titles=Skymningen|artists=Allt Är Musik]

Allt Är Musik: Lyssna Noga [mp3]
[audio:090622_allt_ar_musik_-_lyssna_noga.mp3|titles=Lyssna Noga|artists=Allt Är Musik]

Skapelseberättelsen by Allt Är Musik

Series Two Records [CD, 2008]

1. Skapelseberättelsen
2. Tomrum, Tomrum
3. Borgmästaren
4. Ovän Med Mig Själv
5. Måndag I Mitt Liv
6. Mörkerseende
7. I Gungning
8. Å Andra Sidan
9. Glad På Allvar
10. Skymningen
11. Allt Är Sagt Och Gjort
12. Lyssna Noga
13. Gå Solo

Leave a Reply