Album Reviews

Mount Eerie: Lost Wisdom [Album Review]

Mount Eerie with Julie Doiron, Fred Squire and Phil Elverum

Written by Fense

It’s hard to call one of the most promising acts I’ve discovered this year a promising act. After all, they’ve been gracing us with their music for quite some time now; I just haven’t been paying attention. The group is Mount Eerie, and I was delighted to see their label, P.W. Elverum & Sun, Ltd., is based out of Anacortes – a mere twenty minutes or so from my weekday home of Edison, WA.

The label in fact is named after Mount Eerie mastermind Phil Elverum (Microphones, D+). Of the three monikers, Microphones is likely the most recognized of the bunch, followed by Mount Eerie. Odd, then, that the one I, Fense, am most familiar with is the fairly unknown D+ (the group features none others than Karl Blau and Bret Lunsford)! Mount Eerie’s latest venture, Lost Wisdom features Julie Doiron and Fred Squire.

But enough is enough, gleaned from the group’s “factual bio.” Recorded in an impressive two days, Lost Wisdom is the kind of album set to turn heads and make hearts weepy. Elverum, in Mount Eerie, drives home the greatness of Pacific Northwest folk – it’s laid back, clean and clear. It doesn’t try to be something it’s not; for all its complex twists and turns, there’s a consistent open pathway that allows the simplicity of Lost Wisdom to shine through.

The vinyl version of Lost Wisdom comes encased in an gigantic, folded poster, acting as the cover atop twelve inches of beautiful light blue/swirl vinyl set at 45 RPM. So, not only is the music’s beauty among the top five percent in my extremely large record collection, the artistic vinyl is as well.

P.S. The following song, “Voice In Headphones”, was gracefully approved by P.W. Elverum for posting, and was pulled from the glorious blue/gray swirl vinyl to mp3 on my USB turntable.

Mount Eerie: Voice In Headphones [mp3]
[audio:090202_mount_eerie_-_voice_in_headphones.mp3|titles=Voice In Headphones|artists=Mount Eerie]

Lost Wisdom by Mount Eerie

P.W. Elverum And Sun [12″ LP, 2008]

1. Lost Wisdom
2. Voice In Headphones
3. You Swan, Go On
4. Who?
5. Flaming Home
6. What?
7. If We Knew?
8. With My Hands Out
9. O My Heart
10. Grave Robbers

One thought on “Mount Eerie: Lost Wisdom [Album Review]

Leave a Reply